Western Rite Critic

A Balance to Contagious Enthusiasm

Antiochian WR & Roman Catholic Mysteriology

The Western Rite parish provides to its members the seven sacraments of the historic Church.
These are: Holy Baptism, Confirmation (Chrismation), Holy Communion (open only to confirmed/
chrismated members of the Orthodox Church), Confession (privately to a priest), Marriage (only
between a man and a woman. The Orthodox Church does accept remarriage after a period of
penance), Holy Orders (the Apostolic succession of bishops and the male only priesthood) and
the Anointing of the Sick (healing services)and the Dying (Extreme Unction). – St. Nicholas Antiochian Orthodox Church 1/16/2008

Note: The Orthodox Church rejects the notion that there are seven mysteries, that mysteriology can be neatly defined, and that the mysteries mentioned above correspond exactly to the mysteries as understood by the Orthodox Church (e.g. Confirmation/Holy Chrismation)


January 17, 2008 - Posted by | Western Rite Quotes | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Thoughts, Opinions, Comments?

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: